Skip to main content
Championing Exceptional Women in the Built Environment
Championing Exceptional Women in the Built Environment
Posted By April Crews

Each year at Building Innovation, awards are given in several areas for exceptional service in the building industry. NIBS’ Exceptional Woman in Building award celebrates the industry’s remarkable female thought leaders, entrepreneurs, and champions of change who have made outstanding contributions to the built environment.

At Building Innovation 2022, NIBS presented the award to Cheryl J. Lyman, Executive Director of the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission (OFCC). Lyman received the award for her outstanding work with OFCC that has included encouraging representation at groundbreakings and dedications for each of its 2,000 projects, valued at over $2 billion in design or construction each year. She also led her staff to support efforts to modernize public construction in the state of Ohio. These efforts have improved awareness of OFCC.

Other built environment awards presented during the BI2022 awards ceremony included Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Leadership, NIBS Innovator, NIBS Distinguished Service, Future Leaders, and The Mortimer M. Marshall Lifetime Achievement. Two students also were awarded the Betty and Mort Marshall Memorial Scholarship.

This year’s award winners will be announced at Building Innovation 2023 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, DC. BI2023 takes place September 5-7. Register now at. Learn more about NIBS honors and awards at

Building Innovation