Skip to main content
Institute Welcomes 2019 Board, Says Farewell to Retiring Directors

The National Institute of Building Sciences welcomes new members to its Board of Directors this January and says goodbye to retiring directors.

Charlie (Chuck) D. Curlin, Jr. PE, CEM, CPD; Russell Manning, PhD, LEED AP, CEFP, CRL; Daniel E. Nichols, PE, IAAI-FIT; and Dominic Sims, CBO, are the newest members of the National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors.

Curlin is principal of Shultz Engineering Group in Charlotte, North Carolina. A registered professional engineer in 13 states, he works on business management, client relations, project management, mentoring and mechanical, plumbing and fire protection engineering projects at the firm. He has experience on a wide range of project types, from manufacturing facilities, biomedical laboratories and federal buildings to churches, hospitals, retail and multi-family housing units. An active participant of ASHRAE at both the regional and national levels, Curlin received ASHRAE’s Distinguished Service Award, Student Activities Achievement Award, Regional Award of Merit and Chapter Service Award. Curlin will serve a three-year term, representing professional engineers in the industry category.

Dr. Manning is the founding principal of Manning Consult, LLC and additionally serves as the virtual design and construction engineer for the Pennsylvania State University. He previously worked with the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) Defense Health Agency (DHA) as the facilities chief of operations and asset visibility, managing the DOD military health system’s annual $1 billion sustainment, restoration and modernization program and enterprise-wide facilities asset visibility and analytics, supporting approximately 70 million gross square feet in over 2,300 buildings across 13 countries. Dr. Manning will serve a three-year term.

Dan Nichols is assistant director of fire/life safety for the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) Metro-North Railroad. He oversees the fire and life safety of the organization’s 2,800 square mile territory, annually moving over 86 million passengers throughout southeast New York and southwest Connecticut. He previously worked for New York’s Division of Building Standards and Codes as a fire protection engineer, where he led the state’s participation in the code and standard development processes of different standard developing organizations and allied building organizations. Nichols will serve a three-year term, representing infrastructure in the public interest category.

Dominic Sims, CBO, is the chief executive officer (CEO) of the International Code Council (ICC) where he is responsible for the overall activities and financial performance of the association, including its five subsidiaries. Prior to his work with ICC, Sims served as the CEO of the Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI) and helped guide the consolidation of the three regional code entities that formed the ICC. Sims has served on the boards of SBCCI, the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH) and several other professional associations. Sims will serve a three-year term, representing standards organizations in the industry category.

In addition, Board member Paul R. Bertram, Jr., FCSI, CDT, LEED AP, GGP, of PRB Connect, and Anne M. Ellis, PE, FACI, FASCE, Anne Ellis, LLC were reelected to serve second terms. Bertram will represent material manufacturers in the industry category and Ellis will represent professional engineers in the public interest category.

Chairman Joseph Donovan, senior vice president at Beacon Capital Partners, and Vice Chair Carl Hedde, senior vice president (retired) at Munich Reinsurance America, Inc., will serve another one-year term on the Executive Committee. Ellis joins the Executive Committee as treasurer and Thomas Izbicki, PE, FSFPE of Rolf Jensen & Associates, Inc. as secretary.

The Institute’s Nominations Committee recommended the slate of officers, returning board members and new members, which the Board unanimously approved at their meeting in October. The officers and members were seated following the January 7 Board meeting during Building Innovation 2019: The National Institute of Building Sciences Seventh Annual Conference & Expo, held January 7-10, 2019, in Washington, D.C.

They all join presiding Board members Lane J. Beougher, FAIA, FCSI, LEED AP BD+C, Ohio Facilities Construction Commission; Brian E. Garbecki, PE, LEED AP, Gilbane Building Company; Timothy H. Haahs, PE, AIA, Timothy Haahs & Associates; Brian Larson, PE, Stantec Consulting Services, Inc.; Susan A. Maxman, FAIA; Scott A. McDonald, City of Denton, Texas; Thomas H. Phoenix, PE, LEED AP, FASHRAE, Clark Patterson Lee; Donald L. Pratt, Construction Education & Consulting Services of Michigan, LLC; Darrell Rounds, FMA, CEM, General Motors Company; James “Tim” T. Ryan, CBO, City of Overland Park, Kansas (retired); James Timberlake, FAIA, KieranTimberlake; and Mary B. Verner, MES, JD, Washington State Department of Natural Resources.

Past President Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP, Architect of the Capitol (retired); Past Treasurer Cindy L. Davis, CBO, deputy director, Building and Fire Regulation Division at the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development; Richard B. Hayter, PE, associate dean of engineering for external affairs at Kansas State University (retired); and Past Secretary Joy Marshall Ortiz, AIA, NCARB, president of The Marshall Group, all retired from the Board.

View the complete list of the 2019 National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors.

About NIBS

National Institute of Building Sciences brings together labor and consumer interests, government representatives, regulatory agencies, and members of the building industry to identify and resolve problems and potential problems around the construction of housing and commercial buildings. NIBS is a nonprofit, non-governmental organization. It was established by Congress in 1974. For more information, visit or follow @bldgsciences on Twitter and Facebook.

Media Contact
Christine Cube
Social Media & Public Relations Manager
(202) 289-7800