Board of Directors

The National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors is comprised of 21 members. The President of the United States, with the advice and consent of the Senate, appoints six members to represent the public interest. The remaining 15 members are elected from the nation's building community and include both public interest representatives and industry voices. A majority of Board members are required by the authorizing legislation to be in the public interest category.


Joseph Donovan
Beacon Capital Partners, Boston, MA

Vice Chairman

Carl Hedde
One Concern, Princeton, NJ


Anne M. Ellis, PE, FACI, F.ASCE
Anne Ellis, LLC, McLean, VA


Thomas Izbicki, PE, FSFPE
Rolf Jensen & Associates, Inc., Plano, TX


Lane J. Beougher, AIA, FCSI, LEED AP BD+C
Ohio Facilities Construction Commission, Columbus, OH

Paul R. Bertram, Jr., FCSI, CDT, LEED AP, BD+C
PRB Connect, Casselberry, FL

Charlie (Chuck) D. Curlin, Jr., PE, CEM, CPD
Shultz Engineering Group, Charlotte, NC

Brian E. Garbecki, PE, LEED AP
Gilbane Building Company, Boston, MA

Timothy H. Haahs, PE, AIA
Timothy Haahs & Associates, Blue Bell, PA

Brian Larson, PE
Stantec Consulting Services, Inc., Endicott, NY

Russell Manning, PhD, LEED AP, CEFP, CRL
Executive Director, Facility Operations & Maintenance, Kaiser Permanente, Denver, CO

Susan A. Maxman, FAIA
Green Cove Springs, FL

Scott A. McDonald, CPM, CBO
City of Denton, Dept. of Development Services, Denton, TX

Daniel E. Nichols, PE, IAAI-FIT
State of New York's Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Hyde Park, NY

Thomas H. Phoenix, Sr., PE, FASHRAE, LEED-AP
Clark Patterson Lee, Greensboro, NC

Donald L. Pratt
Construction Education & Consulting Services of Michigan, Auburn Hills, MI

Darrell X. Rounds, FMA, CEM
General Motors Company, Warren, MI

James "Tim" T. Ryan, CBO
City of Overland Park (retired), Kansas

Dominic Sims
International Code Council, Birmingham, AL

James Timberlake, FAIA
KieranTimberlake, Philadelphia, PA

Mary B. Verner, MES, JD
Washington State Department of Ecology, Washington State, WA

Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2019 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on: