Skip to main content
NIBS Opens Built Environment Awards Nominations

Building Innovation 2023 takes place September in Washington, DC

(WASHINGTON, DC, March 30, 2023) – The National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS) has opened the awards process for Building Innovation 2023.

The call for nominations closes April 28.

BI2023 is a premiere meeting for all who impact the built environment to find solutions. The meeting takes place September 5-7, at the Washington Hilton in Washington, DC.

“Recipients of the NIBS built environment awards are a direct reflection of our mission to serve the public interest by advancing building science and technology to improve the built environment,” says AC Powell, JD, CPS, President and CEO of NIBS.

Awards open for nominations include:

NIBS also is collecting applications for the Betty and Mort Marshall Memorial Scholarship, which was established to promote diversity in the building sciences and benefit students pursuing a career in architecture and engineering at a historically Black college or university. The scholarship was started in 2020, in memory of the Marshalls. Mort was the first member of the National Institute of Building Sciences. The application deadline is April 28.

About NIBS

National Institute of Building Sciences brings together labor and consumer interests, government representatives, regulatory agencies, and members of the building industry to identify and resolve problems and potential problems around the construction of housing and commercial buildings. NIBS is a nonprofit, non-governmental organization. It was established by Congress in 1974. For more information, visit or follow @bldgsciences on Twitter and Facebook.

Media Contact
Christine Cube
Associate Director, PR & Social Media
(202) 289-7800