Building Innovation 2016 Conference & Expo Program

Conference Program

Security and Disaster Preparedness Symposium:
Realizing Resilience: Incentives for Local Leaders and Lifelines

Earn 5.5 Learning Units / Health, Safety, Welfare


Thursday, January 14, 2016, 10:15 am – 5:30 pm

(Following the FEDCon® Keynote Breakfast at 8:30 am)

Coordinating with lifelines, such as utilities, during the government policymaking and planning processes, is essential for realizing high-performance goals within a community. In furtherance of such goals, especially improving community resilience, it is important to assure incentives are in place to facilitate decision making, and to coordinate those sources of incentives in order to achieve the desired results. This one-day symposium will begin with an examination of the various segments of the community that should be included when considering potential incentive pathways and conclude with a high-level panel of experts from across the industry to discuss the path forward in implementing incentives to achieve a resilient future. This symposium will build on the Facility Performance and Sustainability Symposium’s discussion of the Incentives for Owners and Operators, to be held on Wednesday, January 13, 2016.


Members of the following councils, committees and programs will benefit from attending this symposium:

  • Multihazard Mitigation Council (MMC)
  • Council on Finance, Insurance and Real Estate (CFIRE)
  • Integrated Resilient Design Program
  • National Council of Governments on Building Codes and Standards (NCGBCS)
  • High Performance Building Council (HPBC)


  • Scott Bernstein, President, Center for Neighborhood Technology
  • Neil Blais, President & CEO, Blais & Associates, Chair, Multihazard Mitigation Council
  • Jerry Brahsear, The Brashear Group
  • Carl Hedde, Senior Vice President and Head of Risk Accumulation, Munich RE, and Member, National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors
  • Michael E. Hooker, Executive Director, Onondaga Water Authority, Onondaga, New York
  • Miles Keogh, Director of Grants and Research, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners 
  • Bryan Koon, Director, Florida Division of Emergency Management
  • Edward "Ed" M. Laatsch, Director, Safety, Planning and Building Science Division, Risk Management Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency 
  • Shawn Lawson, Operations Engineering Manager, FM Global
  • Cooper Martin, Program Director, Sustainable Cities Institute, National League of Cities
  • Dan Mathews,  Republic Staff Director, Emergency Management Subcommittee of the House Transportaton and Infrastructure Committee
  • Kevin Mickey, Director, Geospatial Technologies Education, The Polis Center
  • Keith Porter, Research Professor, University of Colorado   
  • Chris Ramseyer, Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma
  • Stephanie RIco, Senior Vice President, Environmental Affairs, Wells Fargo
  • Maria Solis, California  State University, Sacramento 
  • Ed Thomas, President, Natural Hazard Mitigation Association 
  • Guy Tomberlin, CBO, Past President, International Code Council, Chief of the Residential Branch, Fairfax County, Virginia
  • Brent Woodworth, President/CEO, Los Angeles Emergency Preparedness Foundation


  • Community incentives
  • Disaster preparedness
  • Resilience
  • Security
  • Utility incentives
  • Building codes
  • Community planning


8:30 am – 10:00 am

FEDCon® Keynote Breakfast


10:00 am – 10:15 am


10:15 am – 12:00 pm

Session 4: Utility Incentives

Keith Porter, University of Colorado (Moderator)



Shawn Lawson, FM Global



Miles Keogh, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners



Jerry Brashear, The Brashear Group

Mike Hooker, Onondaga Water Authority

Maria Solis, California State University, Sacramento

12:00 pm – 1:30 pm


1:30 pm – 3:00 pm

Session 5: Community Incentives

Kevin Mickey, The Polis Center (Moderator) 



Brent Woodworth, Los Angeles Emergency Preparedness Foundation 

Scott Bernstein, Center for Neighborhood Technology

Chris Ramseyer, University of Oklahoma

Cooper Martin, National League of Cities

Edward A. Thomas, Esq., Natural Hazard Mitigation Association 


3:00 pm – 3:30 pm



3:30 pm – 5:30 pm

Session 6: Listening Panel
Neil Blais, Blais & Associates, Multihazard Mitigation Council (Moderator)


Carl Hedde, CPCU, Munich RE



Guy Tomberlin, CBO, International Code Council


Stephanie Rico
, Senior Vice President, Environmental Affairs, Wells Fargo



Bryan Koon, Florida Division of Emergency Management



Ed Laatsch, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Dan Mathews, Emergency Management Subcommittee of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee


Full Program

Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2020 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on: