Building Seismic Safety Council NEHRP Recommended Seismic Provisions Update

Building Seismic Safety Council

2020 NEHRP Provisions Update Committee (PUC)

The NEHRP Recommended Provisions for New Buildings and Other Structures embodies the state–of–knowledge criteria for the design and construction of buildings subject to earthquake hazards. The techniques and technologies contained in this resource document are diffused into several national standards, including the American Society of Civil Engineers ASCE–7 Design Standard for Minimum Loads that are referenced by the model building codes developed by the International Code Council (ICC).

The Provisions are developed by the Provisions Update Committee (PUC) a technical committee of seismic experts that identify and apply the most advanced seismic technology available. The committee is supported by expert issue teams (ITs) that address specific aspects of seismic design methodology and construction. These committee and team members ensure that lessons learned from the building performance during the earthquakes, as well as new research to improve earthquake resistance, are reflected in state–of–the–art seismic requirements. The ITs develop proposals for requirements that are balloted by the PUC according to BSSC's consensus process, and subsequently balloted by the member organizations.

PUC Committee Members

Name Organization Role
Bonneville, David Degenkolb Engineers Chair
Carrato, Peter Bechtel Power Corporation Member
Cobeen, Kelly Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates Member
Crouse, C.B. AECOM Member
Dolan, Dan Washington State University Member
Dutta, Anindya Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Member
Ghosh, S.K. S.K. Ghosh Associates Member
Gillengerten, John John Gillengerten Member
Hamburger, Ron Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Member
Harris, Jim James Harris & Associates Member
Holmes, William Rutherford & Chekene Member
Hooper, John Magnusson Klemencic Associates Member
Kasali, Gyimah Rutherford & Chekene Member
Kircher, Charles Charles Kircher & Associates Member
Line, Philip American Wood Council Member
Lizundia, Bret Rutherford & Chekene Member
Malley, James Degenkolb Engineers Member
Manley, Bonnie American Iron and Steel Institute Member
Pekelnicky, Robert Degenkolb Engineers Member
Sabelli, Rafael Walter P. Moore Member
Silva, John Hilti Member
Soules, Greg Chicago Bridge and Iron Company Member
Stewart, Jonathan University of California Los Angeles Member
Luco, Nico U.S. Geological Survey USGS Liaison
Rezaeian, Sanaz U.S. Geological Survey USGS Liaison
McCabe, Steven National Institute of Standards and Technology NIST Liaison
Collins, Jason PCS Structural Solutions Corresponding Member
Rodrigues–Merak, Adrian Virginia Tech Corresponding Member

PUC Meetings

PUC Issue Teams (ITs)

BSSC Member Organizations

The Member Organizations (MOs) of the National Institute of Building Sciences Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC) support the development of the 2020 NEHRP Recommended Provisions for New Buildings and Other Structures, which is intended for adoption into ASCE/SEI 7–22 and IBC 2024. The MOs will participate in the Provisions development process by balloting change proposals that are passed in Provisions Update Committee (PUC) ballots and approved by the BSSC Board of Direction.

Nahlawi, KhaledAmerican Concrete Institute
Haviland, PerryAmerican Institute of Architects
Karrer, PaulAmerican Institute of Architects
Kruth, LarryAmerican Institute of Steel Construction
Manley, BonnieAmerican Iron and Steel Institute
Goupil, JenniferAmerican Society of Civil Engineers
Douglas, BradfordAmerican Wood Council
Skaggs, ThomasAPA – The Engineered Wood Association
Cagley, JimApplied Technology Council
Simmons, RobertASHRAE
Catlett, JohnBuilding Owners and Managers Association
Gould, DianeCalifornia Department of General Services – Division of the State Architect
Siggard, KurtConcrete Masonry Association of California and Nevada
Mota, MikeConcrete Reinforcing Steel Institute
Archilla, JuanDepartment of Veterans Affairs
Earl, WIlliamGeneral Services Administration
Brown, RemingtonInsurance Institute for Business and Home Safety
Pfeiffer, MikeInternational Code Council
Shoemaker, LeeMetal Building Manufacturers Association
Ehrlich, GaryNational Association of Homebuilders
Roye, BrianNational Concrete Masonry Association
Moore, KevinNational Council of Structural Engineers Associations
Kosmatka, StevePortland Cement Association
Krohn, JasonPrecast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
Azzi, VictorRack Manufacturers Institute
Paul, RobertSteel Deck Institute
Xia, TomStructural Engineer Association of Washington
Schinske, DonStructural Engineers Association of California
Palmer, DavidStructural Engineers Association of Central California
Jackson, RobStructural Engineers Association of Colorado
Sfura, JonStructural Engineers Association of Illinois
Wiley, Alan F.Structural Engineers Association of Kansas & Missouri
Miles, KenStructural Engineers Association of Northern California
Caya, HeatherStructural Engineers Association of San Diego
Ochoa, DianneStructural Engineers Association of Southern California
Miller, PhilipStructural Engineers Association of Utah
Samblanet, PhilipStructural Engineers Association of Utah

Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2019 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on: