News & Press: News Releases

Institute Announces 2014 Executive Team, New Board Members

Wednesday, January 22, 2014  
Share |

The 2014 National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors is now in place. The Executive Team includes James "Tim” Ryan as chair, Stephen Ayers as vice chair, John Kelly as secretary and Wally Bailey as treasurer. New members to the Board include Eric Lamb, Brian Larson and Jerry Shaheen.

James "Tim” Ryan, CBO, is the code administrator for the city of Overland Park, Kan. A certified building official, he was elected to the Board in 2006 as a local agency official in the public interest category. President Obama nominated Ryan to the Institute Board in 2011. He was confirmed by the Senate in 2012.

Stephen Ayers, FAIA, is Architect of the Capitol. He is responsible for the facilities, maintenance and operation of the historic U.S. Capitol Building, more than 460 acres of Capitol grounds and 17.4 million square feet of buildings, including the House and Senate Congressional Office Buildings, the Capitol Visitors Center, the Library of Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building and other facilities. Ayers is serving a three-year term, representing federal agency officials in the public interest category.

John P. Kelly retired as executive vice president of Ryan Companies US, Inc., a national real estate firm headquartered in Minneapolis. He was elected to the Board in 2009 to represent building owners in the industry category and is serving his second term.

Wally E. Bailey, director of development services for the City of Fort Smith, Ark., heads the city’s administration and enforcement of building safety, neighborhood services, historic preservation and land development divisions. He was elected to the Board in 2012 and represents local code officials in the public interest category.

New Board member Eric Lamb is executive vice president of DPR Construction, a national commercial contractor and construction management company. He will represent contractors in the industry sector category.

Brian Larson, PE, is vice president at Stantec Consulting Services, Inc., where he leads the Quality Assurance program in the firm’s U.S. practice, focusing on best practices, client satisfaction and predictive technical outcomes. He will represent professional engineers in the public interest category.

Jerry Shaheen, LEED AP BD+C, is a project executive at the Gilbane Building Company, where he is the Regional Lean Champion and Regional BIM [building information modeling] Execution Champion. He will represent contractors in the industry sector category.

In addition, Charles W. Steger, PhD, FAIA, president of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), returns for a second term. He represents academia in the public interest category.

The Institute’s Nominations Committee recommended the slate of officers, returning board members and new members, which the Board unanimously approved in September. The officers and members were seated following the January 7 Board meeting during Building Innovation 2014: The National Institute of Building Sciences Annual Conference & Expo, held January 6-10, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

They join presiding Board members Carl F. Baldassarra, PE, FSFPE, of The RJA Group, Inc.; Cindy Davis, CBO, of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development; Joseph Donovan of Beacon Capital Partners; Cheryl R. English, FIES, LC, of Acuity Brands; Timothy H. Haahs, PE, AIA, of Timothy Haahs & Associates; Richard Hayter, PE, of Kansas State University; Susan A. Maxman, FAIA; Thomas L. Mitchell, Jr., Lt. Col. (ret.), USAF, CFM, CFMJ, of Booz Allen Hamilton; Joy Marshall Ortiz, AIA of The Marshall Group (TMG); Dwight "Sonny” M. Richardson, Jr., of Richardson Home Builders, Inc.; James Timberlake, FAIA, of KieranTimberlake; Mary B. Verner, Spokane, MES, JD, Washington State Department of Natural Resources; and Steven R. Winkel, FAIA, PE, of the Preview Group, Inc.

Susan S. Klawans, director of operational excellence and planning at Gilbane Building Company; Edward L. Soenke, FCSI, AIA, CCS, NCARB, principal of The Design Partnership, an architectural practice based in West Des Moines, Iowa; and RK Stewart, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FRAIC, Hon. JIA, Hon. RAIA, LEED AP, retired from the Board but will remain active on several program committees within the Institute.

An Authoritative Source of Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2018 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on