News & Press: News Releases

Institute Welcomes 2013 Board, Says Farewell to Retiring Directors

Thursday, January 24, 2013  
Share |

The National Institute of Building Sciences welcomes a number of new members to its Board of Directors this January and says goodbye to retiring directors.

Joseph Donovan, the Honorable Stephen Ayers, Cindy Davis, Joy Marshall Ortiz and Richard Hayter are the newest members of the National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors.

Joseph Donovan is senior vice president at Beacon Capital Partners, a privately held real estate investment firm with domestic and international offices. Donovan oversees and directs emergency response for the firm’s 30 million square-foot portfolio. He works with real estate management companies to develop and execute emergency and crisis management programs. He also coordinates outside consulting groups focused on risk management, security and crisis management public relations disciplines. Just confirmed earlier this month as the fifth appointee by President Obama to the Institute Board of Directors, Donovan will represent consumers in the public interest category.

Stephen Ayers, FAIA, is Architect of the Capitol. He is responsible for the facilities, maintenance and operation of the historic U.S. Capitol Building, more than 460 acres of Capitol grounds and 17.4 million square feet of buildings, including the House and Senate Congressional Office Buildings, the Capitol Visitors Center, the Library of Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building and other facilities. Ayers will serve a three-year term, representing federal agency officials in the public interest category.

Cindy Davis, CBO, is the state building code administrator in the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development. She is responsible for managing the building and fire code regulations for the Commonwealth of Virginia, providing oversight of the industrialized and manufactured housing, as well as the regulatory process of adopting the Uniform Statewide Building Code for the Commonwealth. A certified building official, Davis previously served on boards of the International Code Council and the International Accreditation Service. She will serve a three-year term, representing state agency officials in the public interest category.

Joy Marshall Ortiz, AIA, is executive vice president of The Marshall Group (TMG), an architectural firm located in Reston, Virginia. She is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the firm and serves as project manager and lead designer on major TMG projects. Her body of work includes projects for the Bureau of Customs and Border Protection; the U.S. Postal Service; the Departments of the Army, Navy and Air Force, the State Department and the Veterans Administration, as well as Fairfax (Virginia) Public Schools and Delaware State University. Ortiz will serve a three-year term, representing architects in the public interest category.

Richard Hayter, PE, is the associate dean of engineering for external affairs at Kansas State University, where he coordinates outreach activities for the college, legislative affairs, international programs, and alumni and corporate relations. He previously served as director of engineering extension at KSU and was a member of the K-State mechanical engineering faculty. A licensed professional engineer, Hayter served as president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers, is a fellow of ASHRAE and a member of the ASHRAE Foundation Board of Trustees. He will complete the three-year term vacated by Gordon Holness, representing professional engineers in the industry category.

In addition, Board members Dwight "Sonny” M. Richardson, Jr., of Richardson Home Builders, Inc., and Steven R. Winkel, FAIA, PE, of The Preview Group, Inc., were reelected to serve second terms.

Chairman RK Stewart, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FRAIC, Hon. JIA, Hon. RAIA, LEED AP, associate principal in the San Francisco office of architecture firm Perkins+Will; Vice-Chair James "Tim” Ryan, CBO, code administrator for the City of Overland Park, Kansas; Secretary John P. Kelly, retired executive vice president of Ryan Companies US, Inc., and Treasurer Edward L. Soenke, FCSI, AIA, CCS, NCARB, principal of The Design Partnership, an architectural practice based in West Des Moines, Iowa, will serve second one-year terms on the Executive Committee.

Presiding Board members include: Wally E. Bailey, City of Fort Smith, Ark.; Carl F. Baldassarra, PE, FSFPE, of The RJA Group, Inc.; C. Morgan Edwards; Cheryl R. English, FIES, LC, of Acuity Brands; Susan S. Klawans of Gilbane Building Company; Susan A. Maxman, FAIA; Thomas L. Mitchell, Jr., Lt. Col. (ret.), USAF, CFM, CFMJ, of Booz Allen Hamilton; Charles W. Steger, PhD, FAIA, president of Virginia Tech; James Timberlake, FAIA, of KieranTimberlake; and Mary B. Verner, Spokane (Wash.) Tribe Enterprises.

Three members are retiring from the Board. John F. Bender, PE, FSFPE; Emory R. Rodgers; and Jim. W. Sealy, FAIA, all joined the Board in 2007. Bender, Lead Regulatory Engineer at Underwriters Laboratories (UL), served as a building standards representative in the industry category. Rodgers, Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development, represented state agency officials in the public interest category. Sealy served as vice chairman from 2009 to 2010, chairman from 2010 to 2011, and is immediate past chairman of the Board. An architect and consultant to the design, codes, construction and legal profession, he represented architects in the public interest category.

In addition, three members left the Board in September of 2012: Bill Hardiman, a senator from the State of Michigan, who was appointed to the Board by President George W. Bush in 2006, was replaced. He had served as a state agency official in the public interest category. Steve M. Hays, PE, CIH, FACEC, of Gobbell Hays Partners, Inc., who was appointed to the Board by President William Jefferson Clinton in 1995, was replaced. He had served as a professional engineer in the public interest category. And Gordon V.R. Holness, PE, FASHRAE, consulting engineer, who represented engineers in the industry category, retired.

View the complete list of the 2013 National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors.

An Authoritative Source of Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2018 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on