News & Press: News Releases

Industry Leaders Recognized for Contributions to Building Community, Nation

Thursday, December 16, 2010  
Share |

Each year, the National Institute of Building Sciences recognizes individuals and organizations that have provided outstanding service to the Institute, the building community and the nation. Last week, the Institute presented its 2010 awards to Christopher Doyle, Dr. E. William (Bill) East and Dennis J. Milsten.

Doyle Receives 2010 Institute Honor Award

Christopher Doyle (center) enjoys a moment of levity upon receiving the Institute Honor Award from Chairman Jim. Sealy, FAIA, (left) and President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA (right).

The Institute Honor Award is presented to someone who has made an exceptional contribution to the nation and the building community. The 2010 Honor Award recipient, Christopher Doyle, is Director of the Infrastructure Protection and Disaster Management Division in the Science and Technology Directorate at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

"Chris has exhibited remarkable success in identifying and anticipating trends in critical infrastructure protection,” said Jim. Sealy, FAIA, Chairman of the Institute's Board of Directors, who presented the award. "He fully understands the need to protect critical infrastructure from natural and manmade disasters; to improve the resilience of the federal building stock; and to make it more secure, energy efficient and environmentally sustainable.”

Doyle has been a strong advocate for making buildings more resistant to the effects of natural disasters and manmade events, with a focus on continuity of operations and returning to normalcy more quickly after such events. Under his leadership, DHS embarked on the creation of the Advanced Materials Database, a tool that brings together researchers, practitioners and federal agencies to develop and promote advanced and high-performance materials with multiple attributes that will result in blast-resistant, safe, secure, durable, energy-efficient and sustainable buildings. Formation of the Advance Materials Council; convening of the first Security, Energy and Environment Summit; and development of the Security Information and Technology Exchange are just some of the many programs he oversaw in the last year.

East Receives 2010 Institute Member Award

Dr. E. William (Bill) East (center), receives the Institute Member Award from Chairman Jim. Sealy, FAIA, (right) and President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA (left).

The Institute Member Award is presented to a member of the Institute or affiliate council who has made a substantial contribution in support of the mission, goals and objectives of the Institute. The 2010 Member Award recipient, Dr. E. William (Bill) East, is the Senior Research Civil Engineer for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Engineering Research and Development Center.

"Bill has worked tirelessly in the advancement of research in design and construction management,” said Chairman Sealy. "Dr. East leads several projects through the Institute to develop national and international building information modeling (BIM) information exchange standards.”

East has made numerous contributions to improving building construction delivery systems. He devoted considerable time and effort on a collaboration platform called ProjnetSM, which currently supports more than 42,000 users world-wide. Among his projects relating to BIM information exchange standards, the Construction Operation Building information exchange (COBie), is incorporated within several software products and an increasing number of facility owners are inserting this standard into their BIM requirements. Another standard, the Specifiers Property information exchange (SPie), is bringing together manufacturers, trade associations and other stakeholders to improve document consistency for specifying products.

Milsten Receives 2010 Institute President's Award

Dennis J. Milsten, CCM, (center) shakes hands with Institute President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA, (left) and Chairman Jim. Sealy, FAIA, (right) upon receiving the Institute President's Award.

The Institute President's Award is given in recognition of extraordinary efforts to assist in advancing the mission of the Institute. The 2010 President's Award recipient, Dennis J. Milsten, CCM, is Chief Quality Assurance Services Director within the Office of Construction and Facilities Management at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Milsten heads the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Facility Management (VAFM) Transformation Initiative. This project provides a vision on how the Department can transform the delivery of services to the thousands of veterans that have served this country. It leads the public and private sectors in innovation and design of facilities, facility services and delivery.

"Dennis has led this work, along with his colleagues and coworkers who have recognized the unique challenge and opportunity to make the transformation from a static work environment to one that provides a consistent and forward look at the development of higher-performing, integrated planning, acquisition, operation and management processes,” said Institute President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA.

The recipients were presented their awards during the Institute's Annual Dinner, held Wed., December 8, during the Ecobuild America Conference in Washington, D.C.

Earlier in 2010, the Institute issued a call to industry for nominations to identify potential award recipients. An Awards Committee reviewed the submissions and selected winners from the nominees based on how their work meets the mission, objectives and goals of the Institute. The Awards Committee will solicit nominations for 2011 awards in late spring of 2011, with nominations due next July.

Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2020 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on: