Building Seismic Safety Council Simplified Seismic Design Procedures


Simplified Seismic Design Procedures

The development of Simplified Seismic Design is directed by the PUC through the Simplified Seismic Design Project Management Committee.

Simplified Seismic Design Project Management Committee

Name Organization Role
William Holmes, SE Rutherford and Chekene Chair
James R. Harris, PhD, PE J. R. Harris and Company Member
John D. Hooper, SE Magnusson Klemencic Associates Member
Dominic J. Kelly Simpson Gumpertz and Heger, Inc. Member
Barry Welliver, SE BHW Engineers, LLC Member

The documents below are available as Adobe Acrobat PDFs. PDF


The Simplified PMC convenes Work Groups to focus on specific tasks assigned to it by the Provisions Update Committee. For the 2014 Update cycle the following WG's have been formed.

  • Project Work Group 1 – Torsion Procedures
    Chair: James Harris
  • Project Work Group 2 – Simplified Design Procedure (New ASCE 7-10 Chapter 24)
    Chair: John Hooper
    Membership: Roster
  • Project Work Group 3 - Developing Design Procedures for Rigid Wall-Flexible Diaphragm (RW-FD Buildings
    Chair: Dominick Kelley
    Membership: Roster

Information about the Work Groups activities is available to BSSC members on the portal.

The Simplified PMC has also established a Simplified Seismic Design Project Review Panel consisting of members of the Provisions Update Committee to help guide the work of the Simplified project. The Panel is chaired by PMC Chair William Holmes. Panel Roster


Back to BSSC Projects

An Authoritative Source of Innovative Solutions for the Built Environment

Established by the United States Congress, the Institute’s mission is to unite the entire building community in advancing building science and technology.

Address 1090 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4950

© 2018 National Institute of Building Sciences. All rights reserved.

Contact Us:
Phone: (202) 289-7800
Fax: (202) 289-1092

Follow us on