Skip to main content
NIBS and Fannie Mae Release Mitigation Investment Roadmap
With the support of Fannie Mae, the National Institute of Building Sciences has developed a roadmap on mitigation investment to help Americans and the nation’s built environment prepare for and respond to the devastating effects of extreme weather. Project Background In 2020, the NIBS Committee on Finance, Insurance, and Real Estate (CFIRE)… more
NIBS Announces BEST6 Call for Abstracts
The National Institute of Building Sciences Building Enclosure Technology and Environment Council has opened the call for abstracts for the Building Science and Technology (BEST6) conference. BEST6 will be held March 18–20, 2024, in Austin, Texas. As the premiere event of the building enclosure science and technology community, the conference… more
Building Innovation 2023 Sessions: Digital Transformation, Workforce, and Resilience
The NIBS annual meeting – Building Innovation 2023 – saw hundreds of built environment professionals descend on the Washington Hilton in DC. Educational sessions started Wednesday, September 6, and they covered four tracks: building performance and sustainability, resilience, technology, and workforce. The conference concludes today. Wednesday… more
NIBS Wins a Bronze Stevie Award
We’re celebrating at NIBS HQ in Washington. The National Institute of Building Sciences took home a Bronze Stevie Award in the Organization of the Year - Non-Profit or Government Organizations-Small category. Stevie Awards recently announced the winners in 20th Annual International Business Awards. Winners were selected from more than 3,700… more
Japan’s 1923 Earthquake
On September 1, 1923, Japan was ravaged by the Great Kanto Earthquake. Within minutes after the magnitude 7.9 subduction zone earthquake, a 33-foot tsunami flooded the nearest coastal areas. A large landslide crushed the entire village of Nebukawa. Fires seemingly ignited everywhere; some grew into huge firestorms. While fire fighting was… more