Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join
Building Enclosure Technology and Environment Council Board

Board of Direction

BETEC has a diverse Board representing many different aspects of design, construction, and building industry.


Judd A. Peterson, AIA, Chair

Director of Building Science
Judd Allen Group (former BEC Chair - Minnesota)

Theresa Weston, Vice Chair
Technical Fellow
Dupont Building Innovations

Whitney Okon, AIA, Secretary
Applied Building Sciences

Former Chairs:
Chris Mathis
Wagdy Anis

Institute Board Liaison:
Paul R. Bertram, Jr., FCSI, CDT, LEED AP, GGP
PRB Connect, Casselberry, FL


  • Wagdy A. Anis, Anis Building Enclosure Consulting
  • David Bates, AIA, OAC Services Inc.
  • Paul Bertram, Kingspan Insulated Panels
  • Mark Bomberg, Syracuse University (Honorary Member)
  • Justin Boone, AIA, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates Inc. (BEC Chair - Houston)
  • Charles Cottrell, North American Insulation Manufacturers Association
  • Laverne Dalgleish, Building Professionals Consortium
  • Andre Desjarlais, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Craig Drumheller, NAHB Research Center
  • David Herron, Herron + Partners (Honorary Member)
  • Richard Keleher, AIA, Richard Keleher, Architect
  • Kevin Kelly, Jay-K Lumber (Honorary Member)
  • Ann Kosmal, U.S. General Services Administration (Ex-Officio Member)
  • Jan Kosny, Fraunhofer Center for Sustainable Energy Systems CSE
  • Dudley McFarquhar, PhD, PE, McFarquhar Group (BEC Chair - Dallas)
  • Ray McGowan, National Fenestration Council
  • Robert Magoon, NAVFAC Mid-Atlantic
  • Peter Nelson, PE, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger
  • Larry Ray, AIA, Consultant
  • Brian Stroik, Oskar J. Boldt Construction (BEC Chair – Wisconsin)
  • Scott Taylor, Construction Specifications Institute - Cleveland Chapter
  • Steven Thorsell, ICC Evaluation Service Inc.
  • Theresa Weston, PhD, Dupont Building Innovations
  • David Yarbrough, PhD, R&D Services
  • Herbert Yudenfriend, My-Lite Corp.

Honorary Members - BEC Chapter Chairs

  • BEC-Albuquerque: Gordon Berch
  • BEC-Atlanta: Charlie Bailey
  • BEC-Austin: Matt Carlton
  • BEC-Baltimore: Audrey HIcks Harney, AIA
  • BEC-Boston: Brian H. Neeley
  • BEC-Charlotte: Kenneth Huggins, AIA
  • BEC-Chicago: Sarah Flock, AIA
  • BEC-Cleveland: Ed Taylor
  • BEC-Colorado: William P. Babbington, AIA, PE, LEED AP BD+C
  • BEC-Dallas: Dudley McFarquhar
  • BEC-Detroit: Meredith McLellan
  • BEC-DC: Anthony J. Nicastro
  • BEC-Houston: Joe Fong, RA, NCARB, LEED AP (BD+C)
  • BEC-Kansas City, MO: David T. Ford, P.E., RRC, LEED AP BD+C
  • BEC-Los Angeles: Judson Taylor, AIA, LEED-AP
  • BEC-Middle Tennessee: Rick Ziegler
  • BEC-Minnesota: M. Steven Doggett, PhD, LEED AP
  • BEC-Nebraska: Lenora A. Isom
  • BEC-New York City: Sean M. O'Brien, PE LEED AP
  • BEC-Philadelphia: Cheryl Smith
  • BEC-Portland: Marty Houston
  • BEC-Research Triangle Park: Blake Talbott
  • BEC-San Antonio: Adam Matthys
  • BEC-San Francisco: Christopher P. Decareau, AIA, LEED AP
  • BEC-Seattle: Robin Kotulka
  • BEC-Tampa Bay: Robert J. Bitterli, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
  • BEC-Utah: Patrick McLaughlin
  • BEC-Western Pennsylvania: Jeff Light
  • BEC-Wisconsin: Joe Schultz

Community Search
Latest News